Chalk Paint Newbie

We have a guest room that finally has an actual queen-sized bed. The air mattress, rest its soul, never made it past six months. I wanted a headboard now, but the new ones I shopped for were blah or pricey. I happened upon a new store, Sandpaper, that sells Annie Sloan chalk paint. Loved what I saw in the store and asked lots of questions. Next thing was to find a used headboard to refinish.

Went to a few salvage spots and finally found a great piece at ReStore where money raised supports Habitat for Humanity. The $30 price tag was cut in half for a Labor Day special so I walked away with this headboard in great condition for only $15! FYI, a full-sized headboard is smaller than a queen-sized one. Bring your measuring tape to salvage markets.

headboard found at ReStore
headboard found at ReStore

I took a chalk painting workshop, and boldly left the store with cans of Coco, Old Ochre, clear wax and a new brush in hand. I made trips back for dark wax and a second brush.

IMG_5011
Annie Sloan Chalk Paints – Coco and Old Ochre
IMG_5012
finished headboard

That was so easy, I decided to chalk paint some old Advent speakers that I’m upcycling into night stands! And I have an old desk to transform. Stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “Chalk Paint Newbie

Leave a comment