Jesus is THE WAY

Reflecting Christ to our World

A passion of mine is to reunite the Body of Christ, bridge the gaps caused from years of religious division so we can reflect a true picture of Christ to our world.  As Christians we can agree that Jesus is our path to relationship with Almighty God.

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.” John 14:6-7

So just thinking about it this morning raised a few questions. I would love your input. Thanks!

  1. But how many paths are there to Jesus?
  2. Who decides which of these paths are True?
  3. Can someone encounter God without first knowing Jesus?
8 thoughts on “Jesus is THE WAY

  1. 1) Two. Yours and mine. Does the path that gets to Jesus matter as much as the transformation and new path you walk once meet Him?

    2) Can’t they all be true? Is it possible for a person to look back on their life and say, ‘Many times in my life the paths I took lead to a crossroads where Jesus was standing ready to lead me yet I turned away.’ All day-long He has His hand extended out to us independent of the path we are on.

    3) Yes. If the natural man cannot perceive the things of the spirit then I guess it could be possible to encounter God and yet not know that it is Him at work. Once you know Jesus, the veil is lifted.

    1. Great points Marc! I guess #2 gives me the biggest struggle. If I am looking to join forces with other Christians, do I need to define the word? Do we need to agree on some things about Jesus? There are some who say He was a prophet, good person, but not necessarily the son of God.

      So maybe I’m asking “What criteria do we need to agree on about Jesus to be considered in the Body of Christ?” Sorry, guess the ‘path’ terminology wasn’t clear.

      #3 still has me thinking. Can the Holy Spirit move someone who doesn’t know Jesus? Does God draw us close?

      1. {{So maybe I’m asking “What criteria do we need to agree on about Jesus to be considered in the Body of Christ?”}}

        I’ve struggled with this exact question many times and tend to put it down and pick it right back up. Any rejection of who Jesus Christ is as revealed through scripture seems to be going in the wrong direction. However, I believe we can join forces with people of divergent beliefs to do good.

  2. sure they can – people all throughout history and even people today who are seeking something spiritual and during the journey call out to “God” may encounter Him on the surface – then the Holy Spirit will gently direct them to the path of Jesus – then their experience with the true and living God will begin at the cross. just a thought . . . . . . (www.reachem.com)

    1. Maybe I’m splitting hairs, but the Holy Spirit is available to us when we accept Christ. Is He moving among unbelievers?

      1. Definately! Who else but the Holy Spirit can reach in and touch man’s spirit? He won’t come as a “Gift” or “Seal” (until salvation) but a very definate Person at work to convict and convince (“burden”).

  3. 1. But how many paths are there to Jesus?
    One
    2. Who decides which of these paths are True?
    Jesus *is* the Truth
    3. Can someone encounter God without first knowing Jesus?
    Paul speaks in Romans about how the conscience of the unbeliever, along with God’s testifying Creation, is as the Law to that person — telling him right from wrong and with which bears testimony before God even without Christ.

    1. Jeff – in ‘paths’ I’m referring to things like denominations, home churches, personal bible study, etc. I understand there is one Jesus and He is the only Way. But, how many ways to come to know Jesus. Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

